Taeyeon “I” MV Review

TAEYEON 태연_ I (feat. Verbal Jint)_Music Video

Even though this is one of many solo albums that SM Entertainment has made recently, I’m glad that each has had time to shine and utilize as their own. This is very clear with TaeYeon’s “I”

K11A1128.jpg

 

TaeYeon is one of my 
favorite female vocalists from my favorite girl group SNSD (Girl’s Generation). Frankly, this album was a long time coming, but well worth the wait as it is a fantastic album!

The MV’s aesthetics are beyond amazing! The MV plays out as two versions of Taeyeon. First, there’s the version of her that is caught up in work as a waitress at a cafĂ©. She is choked and overburdened with stress and hardships; however, in the video she keeps her cool. Then there’s the other Taeyeon who is a free spirit and is found venturing the beach and all sorts of nature. She is free and always smiling. The video builds up to the bridge where the working Taeyeon sees a butterfly the other Taeyeon sent out and the working Taeyeon decides to quit her job and finally let’s down her hair. She drives out to the beach and finds herself. The video ends with a shot of the two Taeyeons facing each other and smiling deeply.(MV was shot in New Zealand same as Taylor’s “Into The Woods” but with a different concept and style they both have uniqueness of work so no need to compare)

I was surprised that Verbal Jint was part of this song, and even though he isn’t in it for that long, I enjoyed his vocals and thought it was a good inclusion. Plus the little part where they sang together was nice.

The music was a blend of ballad and pop, though more on the ballad side, but the two styles actually fitted really nicely together. It was also a great style for TaeYeon’s voice.

TaeYeon’s voice was beautiful and I could listen to this song all day. It makes me feel refreshed, because of her  passionate, strong yet light voice. The chorus was actually so melodious that you wanna head-bang lol 😁 though its not a rock music 😛

And I highly recommend this!

Leave a comment